The ICMA Book Prize

Deadline: 31 May 2017                

The ICMA invites submissions for the annual prize for the best single-authored book on any topic in medieval art. Books that will be considered need to be printed in 2016. No special issues of journals or anthologies or exhibition catalogues can be considered.

The prize is international and open to any author; however, current 2017 ICMA membership is required to be considered for the prize. To join or renew, click here. 

Languages of publication: English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish

Jury 2016, 2017, and 2018: Therese Martin (chair), Michele Bacci, William Diebold, Beate Fricke, Kathleen Nolan

Prize money for the author: US $1,000
Submission of books:
Only printed books can be submitted to the jury.

Presses and self-nominations: send submissions directly to the jury members. Please contact Ryan Frisinger at for current addresses. for any questions.