The ICMA Book Prize

Deadline: 31 May 2018              

The ICMA invites submissions for the annual prize for the best single-authored book on any topic in medieval art. Books that will be considered need to be printed in 2017, only eligible the year after publication. No special issues of journals or anthologies or exhibition catalogues can be considered.

The prize is international and open to any author; however, current 2017 ICMA membership is required to be considered for the prize. To join or renew, click here. A statement of membership is required with each submission.

Languages of publication: English, French, German, Italian, or Spanish

Jury 2016, 2017, and 2018: Therese Martin (chair), Michele Bacci, Beate Fricke, William Diebold, Kathleen Nolan

Prize money for the author: US $1,000

Submission of books:
Only printed books can be submitted to the jury. A statement of membership must be included with each submission. 

Presses and self-nominations: send submissions directly to the jury members. Please contact Ryan Frisinger at for current addresses. for any questions. 



Sharon E.J. Gerstel
Rural Lives and Landscapes in Late Byzantium: Art, Archaelogy, and Ethnography
New York, New York: Cambridge University Press, 2015