The Kress Foundation is again generously supporting five research and publication grants to be administered by the ICMA. This year, grants are $3,500 each (an increase over prior years) and we have expanded the eligibility for applicants to include scholars who are ICMA members at any stage past the PhD

The deadline for the 2019 grants is August 31, 2019.

The ICMA-Kress Research and Publication grants ($3,500) are now available to scholars who are ICMA members at any stage past the PhD.

With the field of medieval art history expanding in exciting ways, it is crucial that the ICMA continue to encourage innovative research that will bring new investigations to broad audiences. These grants are open to scholars at all phases of their careers and priority will be given to proposals with a clear path toward publication.

If travel is a facet of your application, please include an itinerary and be specific about costs for all anticipated expenses (travel, lodging, per diem, and other details). If you aim to inspect extremely rare materials or sites with restricted access, please be as clear as possible about prior experience or contacts already made with custodians.

If your application is for funds that will support the production of a book, please include a copy of the contract from your publisher, the publisher’s request for a subvention, and/or specifics on costs for images and permissions.

Priority will be given to applicants who have not received an ICMA-Kress grant in the past.

Please submit these documents for your application:

1) A detailed overview of the project (no more than three pages, single spaced). Please also confirm that your ICMA membership is active and specify whether or not you have been awarded an ICMA-Kress grant previously.

2) A full cv.

3) A full budget.

4) Supporting materials – an itinerary (for applications involving travel), a contract and schedule of costs (if a press requires a subvention), or table of anticipated fees for image permissions (if applicable).

Please note: If you are applying for funds to support the production of a book, please do not upload the entire typescript or portions of the text.

The application should be submitted electronically here. Recipients will be announced in October 2019.

Questions can be addressed to Ryan Frisinger, Executive Director, at

Failure to include all required materials adversely affects the review process.



Joseph Ackley, University of Arkansas
Kristen Streahle, Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz - Max-Planck-Institut
Alice Isabella Sullivan, University of Michigan
Sabina Zonno, Early Modern Studies Institute, University of Southern California

Roland Betancourt, University of California, Irvine
Sonja Drimmer, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Maile Hutterer, University of Oregon
Anna Russakoff, American University of Paris
Justin Sturgeon, University of West Florida

Katherine Boivin, Bard College
Christopher Lakey, Johns Hopkins University
Amy Neff, University of Tennessee
Anneliese Renck, Bucknell University
Anne Williams, University of Victoria

Benjamin Anderson, Cornell University
Ivan Drpić, University of Washington
Heidi Gearhart, Assumption College
Melanie Hanan, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University
Marguerite Keane, Drew Univeristy

Betsy L. Chunko, Muhlenberg College
Kathryn B. Gerry, Memphis College of Art
Tracy Chapman Hamilton, Sweet Briar College
Nicholas A. Herman, Université de Montréal
Christina Stancioiu, College of William & Mary

Patricia Blessing, Stanford University
Péter Bokody, Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design, Budapest
Elizabeth Moore Hunt, University of Wyoming
Asa Simon Mittman, California State University, Chico
Eric Ramírez-Weaver, University of Virginia

Elina Gertsman, Case Western Reserve University
Heather Grossman, University of Illinois at Chicago
Jennifer P. Kingsley, Johns Hopkins University
Domenic Leo, Youngstown State University
Karl Whittington, Ohio State University

Mickey Abel, University of North Texas
Jacqueline Elaine Jung, Yale University
Richard Andrew Leson, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Benjamin C. Tilghman, Lawrence University
Warren Theriot Woodfin, Queens College, CUNY

Kirsten Ataoguz, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne
Mark Cruse, Arizona State University
Gillian Elliott, Corcoran College of Art and Design
Eliza Garrison, Middlebury College
Catherine McCurragh, University of Michigan
Mariah Procter-Tiffany, California State University Long Beach
Ittai Weinryb, Bard Graduate Center

Holly Flora, Tulane University
Elina Gertsman, Case Western Reserve